Kent County Association of Change Ringers (Peal No 6946)
At the Parish Church of St Matthew
Saturday, 11 October 1958 in 2h 42 (9cwt)
5040 Minor
2 extents Kent T.B.; 2 extents St Clements College Bob,; 3 extents Plain Bob.
1 Miss Margaret M Jones *
2 Joseph J Batchelor +
3 John R Cooper
4 Ralph Bird (C)
5 Crawford T Hillis
6 A Pat Cannon
* First peal
+First of Minor in 3 methods.
The peal was reattempted 50 years to the day after this in tribute to Miss Margaret Jones, veteran Ashford ringer and sole survivor of the 1958 band, but unfortunately was lost two courses from the end. The band on 11/10/2008 stood in the following order:
Treble Robin J. Hickmott
2 Benjamin D. Kipling
3 Simon J.O. Head
4 Miss Rebecca A. Davey (C)
5 James R.B. Saunders
Tenor Christopher J. Cooper
Had it been successful this would have been first peal and as Conductor for Miss Rebecca A. Davey.