St Paul
Monday, 20 May 2024 in 3h 4 (12–2–13 in F♯)
5040 Cambridge Surprise Royal
Composed by R W Pipe
1 Frederick Shallcross
2 David P Hilling
3 Richard B Grimmett (C)
4 Beryl R Norris
5 Frances Dodds
6 Christopher H Rogers
7 Peter G Brown
8 Robert C Kippin
9 Peter L Furniss
10 John P Loveless
Specially arranged, remembering George E Fearn today, on the 50th anniversary of his death
2500th tower bell peal - 9
200th peal of Cambridge Surprise - 6
‘Remembering George E Fearn 50 years on’ as an idea generated much favourable comment. Some ringers who rang peals with George were not available on the day – David Brown, Ian G Campbell, Tony Cox, Bob Dennis, Maurice Edwards, John Fielden, Kingsley Mason, Geoff Randall, Martyn Reed, Judith Rogers and Michael Uphill - but are associated with the project.

This performance is linked to the event Remembering George E Fearn 50 years on