Lichfield & Walsall Archdeaconries Society
St Mary
Saturday, 11 November 2023 in 3h 19 (18–1–1 in E)
5016 Grandsire Cinques
1 Selwyn G Jones
2 R Jean Nixon
3 Elizabeth Hutchieson
4 Gail K Lawrence
5 Matthew Lawrence
6 Timothy C Hine
7 Stuart C W Hutchieson (C)
8 Anthony P Cotton
9 Philip A Burton
10 Gordon R Birks
11 Andrew C Ogden
12 Jonathan B Townsend
Rung for Armistice Day. The first peal on the twelve bells.
The back 10 originated from the redundant church of St John's, Hanley, Stoke-on-Trent which were cast in 1923 by Gillett and Johnson. Two of these bells were cast in memory of those who died in the Great War of 1914-1918.The 4th (Hanley old 2nd) was in memory of the five church choir members. The 7th (Hanley old 5th) was in memory of employees of Johnson Bros. of Hanley. The treble was donated by Margaret and Selwyn Jones. The 2nd was donated by Jean and Jim Nixon in memory of their parents.Both of these bells were cast in 2019 by the Westley Group.
Click to order