At the Parish Church of St Mary
Sunday, 12 October 2008 in 47m (25 cwt app)
1280 Treble Bob Major In The Kent Variation
1 Carol V J Rainbow*
2 Robin J Hickmott #
3 Rebecca A Davey
4 Simon J O Head
5 Keith A Osborne+
6 Benjamin D Kipling
7 Roderic K Bickerton
8 Christopher J Cooper (C)
* First Quarter Peal for thirteen-and-a-half years
# First blows of Treble Bob Eight-in.
+ First ringing this year.
To mark the 50th Anniversary of first peal ( ) by Miss Margaret Jones, veteran member of the Ashford band on 11.10.58. The same methods on the same bells were attempted yesterday [11.10.08 (Warehorne)] but sadly lost in the final extent. Also marking the 50th anniversary of election to the Kent County Association for David H. Gower whose certificate was signed by Ted Ruck, founding member.
This Quarter Peal is also (very belatedly) to welcome Rev William Hornsby as new Incumbent and for the Parish Harvest Festival. First Quarter on the repaired 6th clapper.