Grandsire Doubles

This is step 1 in the blue pathway.

Grandsire Doubles is one of the oldest methods still rung regularly today, probably dating to the 1640s or ’50s, but is none the worse for that. It is sometimes neglected because, as a twin hunt method, it is unlike most other commonly rung doubles methods. Dodging at handstroke can also be unfamiliar. But Grandsire provides a useful step on the way to ringing Stedman, and extends elegantly to all odd stages where it provides a useful introduction to ringing on higher numbers.

If Grandsire is familiar territory for your band, consider making it more of a challenge by ringing some extents which involve extremes in addition to the regular bobs and/or singles. (A Grandsire extreme is printed on page 26 of the 2020 Ringing World diary.)

Resources

Recent performances

Wednesday, 7 April 2021 Ringing Room (Charlton Mackrell), Somerset 120 Grandsire Doubles
Wednesday, 7 April 2021 Ringing Room (Charlton Mackrell), Somerset 120 Grandsire Doubles
Wednesday, 7 April 2021 Ringing Room (Charlton Mackrell), Somerset 120 Grandsire Doubles
Wednesday, 31 March 2021 Ringing Room (Charlton Mackrell), Somerset 120 Grandsire Doubles
Friday, 26 March 2021 Ringing Room, Somerset 120 Grandsire Doubles
Friday, 26 March 2021 Ringing Room, Somerset 120 Grandsire Doubles
Friday, 5 March 2021 Ringing Room (Shepton Montague, Somerset 60 Grandsire Doubles
Friday, 5 March 2021 Ringing Room (Shepton Montague), Somerset 60 Grandsire Doubles
Friday, 5 March 2021 Ringing Room (Shepton Montague), Somerset 60 Grandsire Doubles
Saturday, 27 February 2021 Ringing Room UK 1260 Grandsire Doubles
Wednesday, 17 February 2021 Ringing Room (UK) (Stretham REC) 60 Grandsire Doubles
Wednesday, 17 February 2021 Ringing Room (UK) (Stretham REC) 60 Grandsire Doubles
Wednesday, 17 February 2021 Ringing Room (UK) (Stretham REC) 120 Grandsire Doubles
Wednesday, 17 February 2021 Ringing Room (UK) (Stretham REC) 120 Grandsire Doubles
Friday, 4 December 2020 Ringing Room (Ipsley Tower) 40 Doubles (2m)
Wednesday, 28 October 2020 Ringingroom, Devon 120 Grandsire Doubles
Wednesday, 8 July 2020 Wellington (The John David Ring), New Zealand 1260 Grandsire Doubles
Sunday, 1 March 2020 Fishtoft (St Guthlac), Lincolnshire 120 Grandsire Doubles
Saturday, 29 February 2020 Butterwick (St Andrew), Lincolnshire 1260 Grandsire Doubles
Saturday, 22 February 2020 Eckington (St Peter and St Paul), Derbyshire 1260 Grandsire Doubles
Monday, 17 February 2020 Chirk (St Mary), Wrexham 1260 Grandsire Doubles
Monday, 10 February 2020 Ipsley (St Peter), Worcestershire 60 Grandsire Doubles
Monday, 10 February 2020 Ipsley (St Peter), Worcestershire 40 Grandsire Doubles
Friday, 7 February 2020 Northfield (St Laurence), West Midlands 120 Grandsire Doubles
Thursday, 6 February 2020 Hartlepool (St Oswald), Durham 1260 Grandsire Doubles

See full list.