Grandsire Doubles

This is step 1 in the blue pathway.

Grandsire Doubles is one of the oldest methods still rung regularly today, probably dating to the 1640s or ’50s, but is none the worse for that. It is sometimes neglected because, as a twin hunt method, it is unlike most other commonly rung doubles methods. Dodging at handstroke can also be unfamiliar. But Grandsire provides a useful step on the way to ringing Stedman, and extends elegantly to all odd stages where it provides a useful introduction to ringing on higher numbers.

If Grandsire is familiar territory for your band, consider making it more of a challenge by ringing some extents which involve extremes in addition to the regular bobs and/or singles. (A Grandsire extreme is printed on page 26 of the 2020 Ringing World diary.)

Resources

Recent performances

Wednesday, 1 September 2021 Broomfield (St Margaret), Kent 1260 Grandsire Doubles
Wednesday, 25 August 2021 Broomfield (St Margaret), Kent 1260 Grandsire Doubles
Sunday, 22 August 2021 Warehorne (St Matthew), Kent 1260 Grandsire Doubles
Wednesday, 4 August 2021 Broomfield (St Margaret), Kent 1260 Grandsire Doubles
Wednesday, 28 July 2021 Broomfield (St Margaret), Kent 1260 Grandsire Doubles
Wednesday, 23 June 2021 Broomfield (St Margaret), Kent 1260 Grandsire Doubles
Wednesday, 9 June 2021 Broomfield (St Margaret), Kent 1260 Grandsire Doubles
Wednesday, 9 June 2021 Market Weighton (All Saints), East Riding of Yorkshire 1279 Grandsire Doubles
Monday, 7 June 2021 Ringing Room (Dundee) 120 Grandsire Doubles
Wednesday, 26 May 2021 Broomfield (St Margaret), Kent 1260 Grandsire Doubles
Monday, 24 May 2021 Ringing Room, Dundee 60 Grandsire Doubles
Wednesday, 19 May 2021 Broomfield (St Margaret), Kent 1260 Grandsire Doubles
Wednesday, 5 May 2021 Ringing Room (UK) (Stretham REC) 60 Grandsire Doubles
Thursday, 29 April 2021 Tavistock Ringing Rooms (Tavistock), Devon 1 Grandsire Doubles
Wednesday, 7 April 2021 Ringing Room (Charlton Mackrell), Somerset 120 Grandsire Doubles
Wednesday, 7 April 2021 Ringing Room (Charlton Mackrell), Somerset 120 Grandsire Doubles
Wednesday, 7 April 2021 Ringing Room (Charlton Mackrell), Somerset 120 Grandsire Doubles
Wednesday, 31 March 2021 Ringing Room (Charlton Mackrell), Somerset 120 Grandsire Doubles
Friday, 26 March 2021 Ringing Room, Somerset 120 Grandsire Doubles
Friday, 26 March 2021 Ringing Room, Somerset 120 Grandsire Doubles
Friday, 5 March 2021 Ringing Room (Shepton Montague, Somerset 60 Grandsire Doubles
Friday, 5 March 2021 Ringing Room (Shepton Montague), Somerset 60 Grandsire Doubles
Friday, 5 March 2021 Ringing Room (Shepton Montague), Somerset 60 Grandsire Doubles
Saturday, 27 February 2021 Ringing Room UK 1260 Grandsire Doubles
Wednesday, 17 February 2021 Ringing Room (UK) (Stretham REC) 60 Grandsire Doubles

See full list.