2020 Pathways

Not sure what to ring next? Looking for method variety, or a challenge? Try a 2020 Pathway.

Pathways are routes through a selection of methods. There are three 2020 pathways aimed at ringers of different levels: they are called the blue, red and yellow pathways. We suggest you’re comfortable with the starting point before you step onto the path. The first step shouldn’t be too difficult.

The lines for all pathway methods are in the 2020 Ringing World diary, which can be bought from our online shop. The diary gives simple quarter peal compositions for most.

The pathways are flexible. Go through at your own pace, or in a different order, ringing a performance of each step on the pathway during 2020. We’re anticipating most people will ring quarter peals for each step, but you can ring peals, extents, touches or just plain courses – and log them all here on BellBoard. You might want to conduct a whole pathway, or take the same band through.

Download the Ringing World article explaining pathways for free.

Join the Pathways Facebook group.

Blue pathway

The blue pathway is for ringers looking to develop their ringing beyond Plain Bob Minor by learning some simple new doubles and minor methods.

Red pathway

The red pathway is aimed at ringers who can ring a surprise minor method and who wish to learn more methods on five, six, and optionally seven bells.

Yellow pathway

The yellow pathway takes ringers who can already ring some surprise major methods and expands their repertoire on eight bells with both plain and surprise methods.

Recent performances

Friday, 29 April 2022 Ringing Room (D and N Come and Try) 120 Spliced Plain Doubles (2m)
Wednesday, 6 April 2022 Cambridge (Our Lady and the English Martyrs), Cambridgeshire 1280 Kenninghall Surprise Major
Friday, 11 March 2022 Ringing Room (D and N Come and Try) 120 St Clement's College Bob Minor
Friday, 11 March 2022 Ringing Room (D and N Come and Try) 120 Grandsire Doubles
Friday, 4 March 2022 Ringing Room (D and N Come and Try) 120 St Martin's Bob Doubles
Friday, 25 February 2022 Ashbocking (All Saints), Suffolk 1308 Childwall Bob Minor
Friday, 25 February 2022 Ringing Room (D and N Come and Try) 120 April Day Doubles
Friday, 25 February 2022 Ringing Room (D and N Come and Try) 120 St Simon's Doubles
Friday, 11 February 2022 Bromley (SS Peter and Paul), Kent 1314 Spliced Major (2m)
Friday, 11 February 2022 Ringing Room (D and N Come and Try) 120 April Day Doubles
Tuesday, 8 February 2022 Lytchett Matravers (St Mary the Virgin), Dorset 1270 Grandsire Doubles
Friday, 4 February 2022 Ringing Room (D and N Come and Try) 120 Grandsire Doubles
Friday, 28 January 2022 Ringing Room (D and N Come and Try) 120 Grandsire Doubles
Saturday, 22 January 2022 Bromley (SS Peter and Paul), Kent 5024 Spliced Surprise Major (7m)
Friday, 21 January 2022 Ringing Room (D and N Come and Try) 120 April Day Doubles
Wednesday, 19 January 2022 Cambridge (Our Lady and the English Martyrs), Cambridgeshire 1314 Lancashire Surprise Major
Monday, 27 December 2021 Helmsley (All Saints), North Yorkshire 1344 Spliced Surprise Major (4m)
Monday, 27 December 2021 Pickering (St Peter and St Paul), North Yorkshire 1280 Kenninghall Surprise Major
Wednesday, 22 December 2021 Ringing Room, UK & USA 1344 Kenninghall Surprise Major
Wednesday, 15 December 2021 Ringing Room, UK 1260 Doubles (1p/7m)
Sunday, 28 November 2021 Felmingham (St Andrew), Norfolk 1260 Doubles (2m/1v)
Friday, 26 November 2021 Ringing Room, UK 1260 Childwall Bob Minor
Tuesday, 23 November 2021 Wellesbourne (St Peter), Warwickshire 1260 Hunslet Bob Triples
Friday, 19 November 2021 Bromley (SS Peter and Paul), Kent 1296 Spliced Major (2m)
Tuesday, 16 November 2021 Trumpington (St Mary and St Michael), Cambridgeshire 1280 Cornwall Surprise Major

See full list.